Can Blade & Soul Compete at the Highest of Skill Level?

Here BladeSoulGold offer some tips and tricks which will hopefully help you fast level up in the game. Does playing with higher ping in this game really limit your potential as a “high-level PvPer” in comparison to people who can play with pings that hover between 10-100ms?
I’ve heard many people say that classes such as KFM, Blademaster and Assassin should not even be touched if you have higher than 150 ping. Is this the actual truth, or are these statements mere over-exaggeration? Surely it can’t be that bad, right?

From a technical perspective (combo chaining+ani cancel+whatever else there is that is factually maimed due to slower actions and movements), is it actually impossible to compete at the highest skill level or reach a certain ‘skill cap’ in BnS with relatively high ping? Is it not possible for me to adjust to my higher ping to a certain point where I could perform as well as someone with 20ms?

Logically, it’s obvious that two people who have the exact same skill with the game yet one has 20ms and the other has 200ms, the player with lower ping will ultimately out-perform the other due to being able to react faster (0.18 seconds faster). I understand that, and I can deal with it.

However, I’ve read that since BnS has very combo-oriented and reaction-based combat, the impact that ping makes in PvP reaches an entirely different level and the advantages/disadvantages are easily more prominent compared to other MMOs.

I’ve been hyped for this game ever since I used to play Age of Wushu a couple years back, yet I still haven’t had a chance to play it, hence why I’m making this post and hoping I could get some answers or differing opinions.

If I put enough time and effort into the game to be able to adjust to my higher ping, is it possible for me to compete at the highest of skill level in PvP or should I just play bns gold with the understanding that it’s impossible, and I should aim for lower standards in my own play?

Leave a comment